Energy Studies Professor receives ACE Honorary Fellowship

August 11, 2010

Professor Philip Jennings, Murdoch Professor of Energy Studies, was awarded the Australian College of Educators’ Honorary Fellowship last night alongside WA’s Chief Scientist, Professor Lyn Beazley.

Murdoch Adjunct Professor Jennifer Searcy also received a certificate of appreciation for 25 years of service to the Australian College of Education.

The Murdoch Professors from the School of Energy and Engineering were honoured at the Walter Neal Oration Evening at the University Club at UWA, which was presented by the Nobel Laureate Professor Barry Marshall.

"I get a great sense of satisfaction from teaching renewable energy and climate change issues because the students are so keen to learn and want to go out and do things to help build a better future," Professor Jennings said.

"We get so many talented and highly motivated students in Energy Studies. It is a privilege to have the opportunity to help them achieve their goals, and I know that their work will help our society enormously."

Murdoch’s Engineering and Energy School Dean, Professor Parisa Arabzadeh Bahri, said: "Professor Jennings was the first Program Chair of Physics at Murdoch University in 1975 until 1979, and he was also responsible for the development of the first university course in Australia to offer off-campus studies in Physics."

"He also introduced the new discipline of Energy Studies in 1992, providing Australia’s only fully external and online course in this field.

"Most recently Professor Jennings and Mass Communications Senior Lecturer Sharon Delmage developed a new Foundation Unit in Creativity and Innovation that has been offered for the first time in 2010."

Since 1993 Professor Jennings has fostered the development of the Cockburn Wetlands Education Centre, an innovative, community-based environmental education centre located at Bibra Lake.

For his contributions to innovation in education and his community service he was awarded the Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in 2006, the Centenary of Federation Medal in 2001, the Bessie Rischbieth Conservation Award in 2008 and Murdoch University’s 25th Anniversary Medal in 2000.

Print This Post Print This Post

Leave a comment

You can use these tags : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

We read every comment and will make every effort to approve each new comment within one working day. To ensure speedy posting, please keep your comments relevant to the topic of discussion, free of inappropriate language and in-line with the editorial integrity of this newsroom. If not, your comments may not be published.

Thanks for commenting!