Distinguished alumni recognised

May 24, 2011

Several Murdoch University alumni have been named finalists in the inaugural Murdoch Distinguished Alumni Awards in recognition of their professional and community service achievements.

Manager of Alumni Relations, Vanessa Fernandez Kennedy said the finalists were chosen from a field of more than 100 “incredible” candidates.

“The finalists epitomise the core values of Murdoch University,” she said.

“Each has given outstanding service to the community and is a leader in their chosen field of endeavour.”

The 2011 Distinguished Alumni Award finalists are:

  • Yap Kok Wei
  • Rachel Anne Nosworthy Westcott
  • Alvin Lai Oon Ng
  • Glen Power
  • Pritam Singh
  • Mike Mouritz
  • John Exeter
  • Frank Horgan
  • Adam Bandt
  • Anna George
  • Atul Garg

Ms Fernandez-Kennedy said she was impressed at the calibre of candidates for these first awards.

“The quality of nominations we received were extremely high, which is testament to the amazing things our alumni have achieved,” she said.

“Choosing the finalists from so many distinguished nominees was a difficult task and we are very proud of our final shortlist.

“We would like to thank everyone who submitted a nomination and wish our finalists the best of luck for the awards.”

Winners will be announced on July 21 at the Murdoch University Distinguished Alumni Awards Ceremony at Murdoch University.  Four awards will be presented to the winner in each of the following four categories: Arts, Education and Creative Media; Health Sciences; Law, Business and Information Technology; Science and Engineering.

More information on the finalists is available at the finalists’ gallery.

Print This Post Print This Post

Media contact: Hayley Mayne
Tel: (08) 9360 2491  |  Mobile: 0400 297 221  |  Email: h.mayne@murdoch.edu.au
Categories: General, Events, Future Students, International students, Murdoch achievements
Tags: ,

Leave a comment

You can use these tags : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

We read every comment and will make every effort to approve each new comment within one working day. To ensure speedy posting, please keep your comments relevant to the topic of discussion, free of inappropriate language and in-line with the editorial integrity of this newsroom. If not, your comments may not be published.

Thanks for commenting!