Alumni honoured for professional and community excellence

July 26, 2012

The second annual Murdoch University Distinguished Alumni Awards took place on Wednesday July 25 with four winners acknowledged for skills, knowledge and innovation that are changing the world for the better.

Under Treasurer of Western Australia Timothy Marney accepted the Law, Business and Information Technology award for his work in politics and with beyondblue, the national depression and anxiety initiative.

A major voice in international relations, Professor Amitav Acharya was named Arts, Education and Creative Media award winner. He has published 25 books and over 200 articles and is currently Professor of International Relations at American University, Washington, DC.

Dr Stephen Van Mil accepted the award in Health Sciences for his outstanding contribution to animal health through his veterinary skills, awareness raising and filmmaking. As well as starting three major vet hospitals in Sydney, the 1984 Murdoch graduate has produced such documentaries as White Lions: King of Kings for Animal Planet, Saving Orangutans for Ten Network and The Last Trimate, narrated by Mel Gibson.

Science and Engineering award winner Brad Norman is a Murdoch Adjunct Professor and the CEO of ECOCEAN Inc, a not-for-profit organisation he set up in 2001 to monitor whale sharks. His citizen-science photo-identification project has been implemented in 46 countries and he was recognised for his conservation efforts by being named a National Geographic Ocean Hero in 2010.

Murdoch University Vice Chancellor Professor Richard Higgott said the recipients were a shining example to current students and to the community in Australia and abroad.

“This year’s recipients have earned their recognition. Their contributions, both as professionals and in contributing to the betterment of society, exemplify the core values that underpin Murdoch University,” he said.

“Their impact can be seen locally, nationally and internationally. We’re proud to call them our alumni.”

For more information on the winners, go to the Distinguished Alumni Award page.

Print This Post Print This Post

Leave a comment

You can use these tags : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

We read every comment and will make every effort to approve each new comment within one working day. To ensure speedy posting, please keep your comments relevant to the topic of discussion, free of inappropriate language and in-line with the editorial integrity of this newsroom. If not, your comments may not be published.

Thanks for commenting!